

American Technical Education Association

The American Technical Education Association (ATEA) is an autonomous, non-affiliated international association devoted solely to the purposes of postsecondary technical education. The organization is dedicated to excellence in postsecondary technical education and emphasizes professional development. ATEA is a driving force behind workforce development.

ATEA was founded in Delmar, New York in 1928 and incorporated as a non-profit professional education association in 1960. In 1973 the national headquarters moved from New York to Wahpeton, North Dakota on the campus of North Dakota State College of Science. Later, in 2012 the national office moved to Dunwoody College of Technology, a private non-profit technical college founded in 1914 in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

Mission

The American Technical Education Association (ATEA) is a leading association for the postsecondary technical educator with an emphasis on professional development.

The organization is dedicated to excellence in quality of postsecondary technical education focusing on practical teaching ideas and best practices. ATEA recognizes outstanding performance and leadership and provides a network for career connectivity.

Goals

- Promote high quality technical education.
- Advocate the value of technical education to society.
- Disseminate information regarding current issues, trends and exemplary practices in technical education.
- Partner with educational institutions, business, industry, labor and government to enhance workforce development strategies.

Member Qualifications

- Teach, serve or administer technical education at the postsecondary level.
- Hire technically prepared employees.

- Support or provide technical education pathways: secondary to postsecondary or postsecondary to university levels.
- Student enrolled in a postsecondary technical education program.

Top Ten Reasons to Become a Member

- 1. Network with technical education professionals.
- **2.** Create a national voice for technical and applied education.
- **3.** Grow professionally.
- 4. Get involved with business and industry.
- 5. Learn strategies to develop a skilled workforce.
- 6. Participate in regional and national conferences.
- 7. Nominate colleagues, students, and educators for outstanding performance and leadership.
- **8.** Connect with other technical colleges and related organizations through the ATEA Website.
- 9. Subscribe to the ATEA Journal.
- **10.** Save on a variety of insurance programs.

American Technical Education Association (ATEA)

Dr. Sandra Krebsbach, Executive Director

skrebsbach@dunwoody.edu | 612.381.3315

Dunwoody College of Technology 818 Dunwoody Blvd Minneapolis, MN 55304

www.ateaonline.org

Annual Membership Fee

Individual	\$100
Individual, Student	\$10
Institutions, Educational	\$1000-\$5000
Not for Profit Organizations	\$1000-\$5000
Business	\$1000
Library	\$500



Sectors | 2024

Aerospace and Space Agriculture and Natural Resource Allied Health Construction Energy Information Technology Manufacturing Transportation

Board of Trustees

President

Dr. Betty Reynard, ATEA President, Lamar State College Port Arthur | Port Arthur TX

President Elect and Vice President

Dr. Ann Bolman, ATEA President Elect, President Western Dakota Technical College | Rapid City SD Ryan Purdy, ATEA 2nd Vice President, President Mid-Plains Community College | North Platte NE

Executive Committee Members

Dr. Jon Connolly, President, Sussex County Community College | Newton NJ

Dr. Rich Wagner, retired President, Dunwoody College of Technology | Minneapolis MN

Sue Smith, retired Vice President, Advanced Manufacturing, Engineering and Applied Science, Ivy Tech Community College | Indianapolis IN

James King, retired President of Northeast Community College, TN & Vice Chancellor Tennessee Colleges of Applied Technology | Indianapolis IN

Bob Wallace, retired TBR Finance Director, ATEA Treasurer, Trustee Emeritus |

Ex officio Member

Dr. Sandra Krebsbach, ATEA Executive Director, Dunwoody College of Technology | Minneapolis MN

Board of Trustees

Victor Branch, retired Manager, Education and Digital Tools, Mississippi State College CAVS Extension I Canton MS Al Bunshaft, retired Senior Vice President, Dassault Systems and President of Dassault Systems Foundations I Waltham MA Elizabeth Colbert-Busch, Economic Development Adviser to President, Trident Technical College I Charleston SC Dr. David Dore, Chancellor, Virginia Community Colleges Commission | Richmond VA

Mike Ebbing, Instructor, Human Resources and Business, Southeast Technical Institute | Sioux Falls SD

Dr. Wendy Elmore, Provost and Executive Vice President, Lamar State College Orange | Orange TX

Dr. Aaron Fichtner, President, New Jersey County College Council | Trenton NJ

Dr. Jimmy Hodges, President, Calhoun Community College I Decatur AL

Dr. Matt Janisin, Vice President, Business Solutions and Workforce Development, Gateway Technical College | Kenosha WI Brooks Jacobsen, Instructor, Robotics and Electronics, Lake Area Technical College | Watertown SD

Matt Kirchner, President and CEO, LAB Midwest and host of Podcast on Manufacturing | Mequon WI

Anthony Landis, Senior Director, College Access and Career Success Ohio Department of Higher Education I Columbus OH J P Laguerre, Director of Education, 3 D Experience, Dassault Systems of America | Long Beach CA

Dr. Ben Mortiz, Executive Director of Wyoming Community College System | Cheyenne WY

Mr. Keith Phillips, Executive Director, Alabama Network/Vice Chancellor of Workforce Economic Development, Alabama Community College System | Montgomery AL

Paul Perkins, President and CEO, Amatrol | Jeffersonville IN

Dr. Will Pierce, Assistant Commissioner for Technical Education, Utah System of Higher Education | Salt Lake City UT

Ken Potthoff, Deputy Executive Director, Career and Technical Education Consortium of States, Inc. | Decatur GA

Dr. Ian Roark, Vice Chancellor of Workforce Development and Innovation, Pima Community College I Tucson AZ

Dr. Shelanda Simmons, Instructor, Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Memphis | Memphis TN

Dr. Brad Tyndall, President Wyoming Central College | Riverton WY

Chelle Travis, Executive Director, SkillsUSA | Leesburg VA

Dr. Sheree Utash, President, Wichita State University Applied Sciences and Technology | Wichita KS

Cliff Wightman, President, Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Crossville | Crossville TN

Dr. Valerie Williams, Director, Career and Technical Education, Mississippi Community College Board | Jackson MS

Dr. Lin Zhou, President, Bates Technical College | Tacoma WA

To join online or print a membership form, please visit: <u>www.ateaonline.org/Membership</u> Email questions on membership to: ateacommunications@gmail.com