Log in
Log in

American Technical Education Association


ATEA National Awards 


  2021 deadline to nominate is January 15, 2021--details in each document.

Outstanding Technical Teacher:

This award is presented to a full-time postsecondary technical education instructor whose performance and contributions are exceptional. Innovative teaching strategies must be apparent and involvement with business and industry is essential. Nominees must be members of ATEA or the institution where they are employed must be an institutional member. We all know instructors who reach out to their students in life-changing ways, take the time to nominate them.


Outstanding Technical Student:

The recipient of this award must be a full-time student in a postsecondary technical education program of study. The student must be very strong academically and show potential in his/her chosen technical field. A nominee must be a student at a school with active institutional membership in ATEA.


Please use the corrected form below

ATEA_StudentAward_2021 corrected.docx

Outstanding Technical Program: The purpose of this award is to recognize an outstanding technical program at a postsecondary technical education institution. The program must be exemplary and contribute to the nation’s workforce. Instruction in the program should be current and cutting edge. The program’s Advisory Committee should be knowledgeable and active. Involvement with business and industry is essential. Program instructor(s) innovative teaching strategies and credentials will be reviewed. Enrollment and placement will also be taken into consideration. The program nominated must be at a school with active institutional membership in ATEA.

Silver Star of Excellence Award: ATEA and the National Technical Honor Society (NTHS) present this award to a company that is supportive and committed to postsecondary technical education. Nominations for the award are from postsecondary technical institutions in letter form identifying specific contributions to technical education such as: donations of equipment, facilities, training, financial assistance, internships, apprenticeships, advisory committee members and the company’s impact on technical education. In addition to the award, the company receiving this award will be inducted into the new NTHS Educator-Industry Hall of Fame.
Jean Koch Outstanding Technical Education Achievement Award: The purpose of this award is to recognize an individual who has made the highest meritorious contributions to the improvement, promotion, development and progress of postsecondary technical education and ATEA. The award is presented to an individual who has made contributions or achieved prominence in technical education at the local, state, regional and national levels. To be eligible, a person must be currently in the field of postsecondary technical education or have spent a significant amount of time and energy in support of technical education as an administrator or an industry representative. The nominee or the institution or business in which they are employed must be a member of ATEA. (If the awards committee determines that an Outstanding Technical Education Achievement Award will not be presented in a given year, the nomination packets will be returned without review.) 


American Technical Education Association

premier association for the post secondary technical educator, with emphasis on professional development.

Dunwoody College of Technology
818 Dunwoody Blvd.
Minneapolis, MN 55403

Dr. Sandra Krebsbach, Executive Director

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software